How I Passed the AI-900 Microsoft Azure AI Fundamentals Certification

Brian Enochson
3 min readAug 28, 2023

I recently passed the AI-900 Certification on my first try and have a few tips that might help you with your preparation and test taking.

I have been researching capabilities for performing AI/ML tasks on the different cloud providers looking at Azure, AWS, GCP and IBM and what they offer. While looking at Azure recently I came across the foundation level certification they offer for AI Fundamentals. I thought it would be great to increase my AI knowledge as well as gain a certification, so set a date.

Many people will ask why I set an exam date and then started preparation. I do this, as it provides a clear date and prevents any possible procrastination on my part with buckling down and doing all I can to pass any exam.

I had previously passed the AZ-900 certification, so was vaguely aware of the requirements for this type of certification offered by Microsoft. While not a complete free giveaway, I knew with a good foundation of knowledge I could pass. I also knew that these would be knowledge questions and not case studies or code completion type exercises which makes it easier. For an overview it helps to start with Microsofts own Study Guide for the exam.

The first thing I always do is I set an exam date that was close enough to motivate myself to…

--

--

Brian Enochson

Developer… you know. Interested in everything technology related. Follow me as I will keep producing content!!